City of Mt. Pleasant Home

City Commission

The Mt. Pleasant City Commission consists of seven citizens elected at large for staggered three-year terms. Candidates for the City Commission must reside within the city limits. City Commission duties and responsibilities are set forth in the City Charter. The City Commission elects the Mayor and Vice Mayor from among its members at the first meeting each January.

Meeting Information

The City Commission meets the 2nd and 4th Monday of the month at 7 p.m. in the City Commission Chambers, Mt. Pleasant City Hall, 320 W. Broadway, Mt. Pleasant. Commission work sessions are scheduled as needed or necessary and are held at 6:30 p.m.

Meetings can also be viewed on Channel 188.

The meetings can be viewed live on the 2nd and 4th Monday monthly at 7 p.m. and the meeting is rebroadcast (for two weeks following the meeting) daily at noon, as well as Friday and Saturday at 8 p.m.

Mayor Jim Holton

1828 Woods Way

Member since: 05/2006
Term Expires: 12/31/2017

Owner, Mountain Town Station Brewing Co. & Restaurant; Mt. Pleasant Brewing Company and Camille's On the River

Vice Mayor Rick Rautanen

309 East Grand

Member since: 02/2012
Term Expires: 12/31/2015

General Manager, Hampton Inn - Lodgco Hospitality

Commissioner Jon Joslin

320 E. Illinois St.

Member since: 01/2001
Term expires: 12/31/2015

Controller, Advanced Battery Concepts

Commissioner Tony Kulick

409 S. Fancher

Member since: 01/2014
Term expires: 12/31/2016

Former Director of Planning and Community Development for the City of Mt. Pleasant

Commissioner Kathleen Ling

914 S. Crapo St.
(989) 773-7823 (H)

Member since: 01/2008
Term expires: 12/31/2016

Retired Teacher

Commissioner Matthew Sous

520 S. Lansing

Member since: 01/2013
Term Expires: 12/31/2015


Commissioner Mike Verleger

402 S. Fancher

Member since: 01/2015
Term Expires: 12/31/2017