City of Mt. Pleasant Home

City recognizes outgoing board and commission members

February 22, 2013 - The City of Mount Pleasant recognizes the distinct work and participation of several board and commission members who have served their allocated terms.

Recent outgoing members:

  • Kim Ellertson; Zoning Board of Appeals
  • Minde Lux; Planning Commission
  • Peter Orlik; Planning Commission
  • Robert Banta; Historic District Commission
  • Rocky Cashen; Building, Fire & Sanitary Sewer Board of Appeals
  • Patricia Daniels; Parks and Recreation Commission
  • Harold Cook; Fire and Police Retirement Board

“Each board and commission member is valuable to the City and the community as a whole,” said City Manager Kathy Grinzinger. “These are volunteers who selflessly give their time and work together to better their community.”

Members of the Zoning Board of Appeals, Planning Commission, Historic District Commission, Building, Fire & Sanitary Sewer Board of Appeals, and Parks and Recreation Commission are appointed by the City Commission and serve staggered three-year terms without pay. However, members of the Fire and Police Retirement Board serve four-year terms.

Citizen volunteers are appointed boards and commissions to formulate and implement policies and procedures, hear appeals, initiate projects and programs, and work with other governing bodies to promote economic activity and growth. Most appointments are made by the City Commission. The City Charter limits service to two full, consecutive terms. Most terms of appointment are for three years ending on January 31, staggered by year among the members.

The boards and commissions meet regularly and the meetings are open to the public.

Any qualified registered voter in the City of Mt. Pleasant may submit his or her name for consideration to serve on a board or commission by visiting the City’s website at to download the board and commission vacancy application. Applications are kept on file for one year.