City of Mt. Pleasant Home


City of Mt. Pleasant MI

The City has a council-manager form of government. The council-manager form combines the strong political leadership of elected officials (the City Commission) with the professional managerial experience of an appointed government manager. The council-manager form of government establishes a representative system where all political power is concentrated in the council or commission as a whole rather than divided between a mayor and the other elected officials. In Mt. Pleasant, the City Commission is made up of seven non-partisan members, each elected at-large. The Mayor is a member of the Commission and is selected on an annual basis by his or her colleagues.

A City Manager is appointed by the Commission and assumes the role of a chief executive officer. The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the City's business and executing the policy direction of the elected officials. In the last thirty years, three managers have served the community and its employees. The City's business operations are divided into divisions: Public Safety, Public Works, Administration & Finance, and Community Services.